Nullriver Releases Official iPhone Tethering Application On App Store (Update: removed)

Nullriver app in iTunes App Store

A very unexpected application has turned up in the iTunes App Store.  The application is called NetShare and it was released by Nullriver.  What makes this application so unexpected is that it allows users to tether their iPhone to a computer.  I was under the impression that Apple would not approve such an application since AT&T usually charges extra for data tethering plans.  

The application is available for $9.99 from the App Store.  I just downloaded it but have not had a chance to try it out yet.  I read a couple of comments on it in the App Store and so far it seems to work pretty well.  I will post an update as soon as I have a chance to try it out.

UPDATE:  This app has apparently been pulled from the iTunes App Store.  When I tried to access it via the link provided above I got the following error message:

It appears as if this application was not intended to be distributed to the U.S..  Developers have the option to make their applications available to specific nations only.  I can probably use this application since I now have it on my iPhone.  However, I wonder if Apple will reimburse me its cost since I might be in trouble with AT&T if I actually use it and we don’t want that to happen, now do we.  🙂

UPDATE 2:  I have now read other posts stating that this app is also no longer available in both Canada as well as the U.K.  I am starting to believe that the approval of this app was a mistake by Apple and never should have occurred in the first place.

UPDATE 3:  The developer of this app has now posted a reply( posted on macrumors.com ):

We’re not quite sure why Apple took down the application yet, we’ve received no communication from Apple thus far. NetShare did not violate any of the Developer or AppStore agreements. We’re hoping we’ll get some feedback from Apple tomorrow. Sorry to all the folks that couldn’t get it in time. We’ll do our best to try to get the application back onto the AppStore if at all possible. At the very least, I would hope Apple will allow it in countries where the provider does permit tethering.

About Will Hucks

I am a systems analyst and do java development here in Jacksonville Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nullriver Releases Official iPhone Tethering Application On App Store (Update: removed)

  1. I think that developers that get cool apps like this rejected should file a class action lawsuit against Apple for monopolizing the sale of applications for their iPhone platform. This would be like Microsoft saying that all sales of any PC software must go through their store only. The only difference is the company name.

  2. optimus says:

    not available in swedish store either 😦

Leave a Reply

