My iPhone 3G locked up on me!

photo

Today after closing out the yellow pages iPhone app and then attempting to open Twinkly my iPhone locked with funky lines going across the screen. It took a while but it adventually reset itself. This appeared to be more of a software issue than a hardware issue. I will keep monitoring it though. I almost cried like a little girl when this happened. 🙂

About Will Hucks

I am a systems analyst and do java development here in Jacksonville Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My iPhone 3G locked up on me!

  1. David Bernstein says:

    The same thing just happened to me! I was checking flight status using Safari, and the whole thing just locked up. Imagine my worry. Here I was about to fly 3,000 miles with what I thought was an expensive 3G brick.

    As soon as I could, I logged onto the internet (on my MacBook Pro) and found out how to reset the phone (hold power and home button for 10 seconds). Phew! All is well again.

    Of course, 1/4 of my battery is now gone due to all the CPU cycles that went on before I was able to find out how to fix the problem. Hope I have enough for all those episodes of Weeds I was planning to watch on the plane!

    And yes, I did apply the 2.0.1 update yesterday. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid.

  2. Rob says:

    I just had this very thing happen to me, did a quick Google search and found this awesome nugget “hold power and home button for 10 seconds” I just wanted to say thanks for posting this tip 😉

  3. Pete says:

    I just did the same thing.

    It worked great.

    Thank you

  4. alex says:

    i was trying to upload some music from my computer and the phone locked up on me, the screen shows the iTunes logo and the white USB cable with an arrow pointing upwards, it locked on me and the home button and power for 10 seconds is not working, it is sending me right back to the same screen, can anyone help?

  5. mehwish says:

    hey alex..how did u get ur iphone unlocked when it locked using itunes. the same thing has happened to me…plz help me ya…email me at mehwish_saba88@yahoo.com

  6. ray says:

    @Pete @Rob I’m aware of this quick fix — holding the power and home button to reset and unlock the phone — but my phone is permanently locked. Or, so it would seem.

    I have an iPhone 3G and although after crashing the phone and restarting it, the number pad and screen slide bar do not unlock for me. Any gesture to tap in numbers or move the slider bar is unresponsive.

    This phone is less than 10 months old.

    It’s totally bricked. 😦

  7. Nafets says:

    @Ray A collegue of miene also had this happen to him. I took the Iphone with me home and did som research on the topic. There is plenty of different advise out there but I finally found a sollution that worked (for me at least)
    1. Turn off your Iphone. Keep holding the powerbutton undtil the red slider comes on. Slide it and the phone turns off.
    2. Open Itunes and connect the cable/dock to the computer.
    3. Plug the other end of the cable into the Iphone/place the Iphone in the dock while you push and hold the home button. Keep pushing the home button!
    4. Now you should see the Apple-logo that changes to the screen with the cable, arrow and Ituneslogo. You can release the homebutton at this point.
    5. Now Itunes connects to the Iphone and restores your Iphone. Be aware that you need internetacces on the computer to succeed.

    It worked for me and I hope you will get your Iphone to work too.
    Good luck!

  8. Hattie says:

    But, my power off button won’t slide. It’s been stuck on the power off page for about 12 hrs??This is attrocious timing. Just used my upgrade last month to get my mom an I phone!! Please help me you geniuses!!:)

  9. Tina says:

    Hi I have the same issue as Ray, I have a 3g iphone that got locked the same way as Ray. I have tried to turn it off but when I let go of my hand it goes back to the itune logo on the screen…. Anyone please help?

  10. Rhonda says:

    My 3G is locked up.
    “Slide to power off” mode = won’t slide
    Cancel bar is highlighted but will not function

Leave a Reply

